The Moment

Marie Howe, Poet • Lisa Sigal, Artist

About the Poet

Marie Howe is the author of four volumes of poetry: "Magdalene: Poems" (W.W. Norton, 2017); "The Kingdom of Ordinary Time" (W.W. Norton, 2009); "What the Living Do" (1997); and "The Good Thief" (1988). She is also the co-editor of a book of essays, "In the Company of My Solitude: American Writing from the AIDS Pandemic" (1994). Her poems have appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Poetry, Agni, Ploughshares, Harvard Review, and The Partisan Review, among others. She was the Poet Laureate of New York State from 2012 to 2014.

About the Artist

Lisa Sigal is an artist based in Brooklyn. Her work has been exhibited nationally and internationally at The Whitney Museum Biennial 2008, The New Museum, MoMa/PS1 Museum, The Sculpture Center, the Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, The Albright Knox, the Brooklyn Museum, Prospect .3 Biennial in New Orleans, the DeCordova Museum in Boston, the Essl Museum in Vienna, LAXART space in Los Angeles, Samson Projects in Boston, The Mattress Factory, and the Anyang Public Art Project, among other venues. Sigal is a 2015 Anonymous Was A Woman grantee, 2012 Art Matters Foundation grantee and Creative Capital grantee, and a 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship awardee. She has been an artist-in-residence at the Joan Mitchell Center, the Skowhegan School of Art, the Headlands Center for the Arts, and the Sharpe Walentas Studio Program. She received a BFA from the Tyler School of Art and an MFA from the Yale School of Art.

"The Moment" read by the Poet