

U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Transit Administration REGION II New Jersey, New York One Bowling Green Room 429 New York, NY 10004-1415 212-668-2170 212-668-2136 (fax)

August 14, 2020

Ms. Crystal M. Cummings, AICP Deputy Director, Federal Affairs and Emergency Relief Funding Metropolitan Transportation Authority 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Re: Supplemental Environmental Assessment Re-Evaluation for Second Avenue Subway Phase 2 (Environmental Re-Evaluation Consultation SAS Phase 2-No. 1)

Dear Ms. Cummings:

The Federal Transit Administration (FTA) has reviewed the Environmental Re-Evaluation Consultation Worksheet of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority's July 2018 Supplemental Environmental Assessment (SEA) for Second Avenue Subway Phase 2 (the Project), submitted to our office on April 22, 2020, as well as the concurrence letters from the New York State Historic Preservation Office and the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, dated May 8, 2020, and May 13, 2020, respectively. FTA has determined that the five (5) proposed Project modifications, listed below, would not result in any new adverse impacts from those presented in the SEA and in the November 2018 Finding of No Significant Impact. The elements of the Modified Design reviewed in Re-Evaluation 1 include:

- 1. Defer Entrance 2 at 125th Street Station;
- 2. Eliminate Deep User Spaces at 125th Street Station;
- 3. Eliminate Park Avenue Passageway Connection and Convert Entrance 3 to Elevators Only at 125th Street Station;
- 4. Reduce Scope and Size of Ancillary A at Tail Tracks; and
- 5. Repurpose Existing Section 13 for 116th Street Station.

Please see the enclosed Environmental Consultation Re-Evaluation Worksheet for official FTA concurrence. If you have any questions, please contact Richelle Gosman at 212-824-2432 or richelle.gosman@dot.gov.

Sincerely,

Stephen Goodman, P.E. Regional Administrator

Enclosure

cc: Stephanie DeLisle, MTAHQ Linda Corcoran, MTACD Donald Burns, FTA Judy McClain, NYCT Richelle Gosman, FTA Louis Oliva, MTAHQ Jennifer Wuotinen, MTACD Hans PointduJour, FTA Tim Gianfrancesco, MTACD Joseph O'Donnell, MTACD