Minutes of Regular Meeting

Committee on Operations of the MTA New York City Transit Authority, Manhattan and Bronx Surface Transit Operating Authority, Staten Island Rapid Transit Operating Authority, and MTA Bus Company April 24, 2023

Meeting Held at:
Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Two Broadway
New York, New York 10004
10:45 am

The following Committee Members attended the meeting:

Hon. Haeda Mihaltses, Committee Chair

Hon. Andrew Albert

Hon. David Jones

Hon. Lisa Sorin

Hon. Sherif Soliman

Hon. Midori Valdivia

Hon. Randolph Glucksman

The following Committee members appeared by videoconference:

Hon. Jamey Barbas

Hon. Frankie Miranda

The following Staff Members attended in person or by videoconference:

Richard Davey, President, NYCT

Demetrius Crichlow, Senior Vice President, Subways, NYCT

Chris Pangilinan, Vice President, Paratransit, NYCT

Quemuel Arroyo, Chief Accessibility Officer, MTA

Frank Annicaro, Senior Vice President, Buses, NYCT

Patrick Warren, Chief Safety Officer, MTA

Norman Grandstaff, Deputy Chief, Transit, NYPD

Brian McGuinn, Deputy Chief, Transit, NYPD

William Amarosa, Vice President, Subways, Operations Support

Kenneth Corey, Chief of Department, NYPD

Dana Hecht, Senior Vice President, Infrastructure, MTA C&D

Timothy Doddo, Vice President, Office of System Safety, MTA

Judith McClain, Chief, Operations Planning, NYCT

Monica Murray, Chief Administrative Officer, NYCT

Shanifah Rieara, Acting Chief Customer Officer

Paige Graves, General Counsel, MTA

David Farber, General Counsel, NYCT and MTA Bus
Raymond Porteus, Inspector, NYPD Transit Bureau
Jaibala Patel, Deputy Chief Financial Officer, MTA
Jesse Seder, Acting Deputy Vice President, Central Maintenance Facilities, NYCT
Louis Montanti, Deputy Chief Procurement Officer, Operations, MTA
Robert Diehl, Vice President, Safety and Security, NYCT
Jim Compton, Executive Vice President, Customer Environment & Facilities, NYCT

1. OPENING MEETING

Chair Mihaltses called the April 24, 2023 Committee meeting to order.

2. PUBLIC SPEAKERS

The MTA moderator reminded public speakers of the rules of conduct, the two-minute speaking limit, and that speakers will be alerted when 30 seconds remain to conclude their remarks.

The following public speakers commented:

Lisa Daglian Murray Bodin David Kupferberg Charlton D'Souza Jesse Figueroa Debra Greif Betsy Plum Danny Pearlstein Jason Anthony Aleta Dupree

Christopher Greif

Andy Pollack

Robert S. Wittaker

Caitlin Pearce

Derrick Holmes

Omar Vera

Refer to the video recording of the meeting produced by the MTA and maintained in MTA records, for the content of speakers' statements.

3. <u>APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES</u>

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved the Minutes of the Committee meeting held on March 27, 2023.

Refer to the video recording of the meeting, produced by the MTA and maintained in MTA records, for the details.

4. WORK PLAN REPORT

President Richard Davey stated that there were no changes to the 2023 Work Plan.

5. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

President Davey delivered the President's Report.

President Davey reported that the MTA had received an FTA "Champion of the Challenge" award for its Zero-Emission Bus Transition Plan.

President Davey commented that the Faster, Cleaner Safer initiatives continue to put the focus on customer experience. He noted as an example that the coming expansion of the automated bus lane enforcement camera program will increase bus speeds and bus customer satisfaction. He also referred to record high subway on-time performance for three straight months.

President Davey stated that subway station agents have begun to support customers outside of station booths and that three additional Customer Service Centers have opened.

Department of Buses Chief of Staff and Vice President, Business Strategies Zafira Lateef and Deputy General Manager James Coyle reported on an initiative for targeted improvements on 28 lower performing routes that will benefit 20% of bus ridership.

Refer to the video recording of the meeting, produced by the MTA and maintained in MTA records, for the details.

6. ACCESSIBILITY

Quemuel Arroyo, Chief Accessibility Officer, delivered the Accessibility Report.

Arroyo reported that that the wide aisle fare gate pilot had begun at two stations.

Arroyo also referred to the new and improved My AAR app that allows trips to be booked on-line.

7. SAFETY & SECURITY REPORT

Deputy Chief Norman Grandstaff delivered the Safety and Security Report. He provided the latest crime statistics.

He emphasized that the NYPD continues to work closely with the City's District Attorneys to support prosecution of offenders in the transit system.

Refer to the video recording of the meeting, produced by the MTA and maintained in MTA records, for the details.

8. Procurements

Louis Montanti, Deputy Chief Procurement Officer, Operations, presented the procurement package, which included one action in the estimated amount of \$23.7M.

A motion was duly made and seconded to approve the procurement (Schedule H in the Agenda).

Refer to the video recording of the meeting, produced by the MTA and maintained in MTA records, for the details.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Committee voted to adjourn the meeting.