MTA New York City Transit

When the subway opened in 1904, it launched an unprecedented era of growth and prosperity for the newly unified New York City. One hundred years later, the city's reliance on its underground rapid transit system is greater than ever. NYC Transit keeps New York moving 24 hours a day, seven days a week, as its subways speed through underground tunnels and elevated structures in the boroughs of Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, and the Bronx. On Staten Island, the MTA Staten Island Railway links 22 communities.

Motor-bus service on the streets of Manhattan began in 1905. Today, NYC Transit's buses run in all five boroughs, operates 190 local, 30 express, and 17 SBS routes. They account for 80 percent of the city's surface mass transportation.

NYC Transit also administers paratransit service throughout New York City to provide transportation options for people with disabilities.

MetroCard®, the MTA's automated fare collection medium, is accepted on all New York City Transit subway stations and on buses. It can also be used on MTA Bus, Nassau Inter-County Express (NICE) bus, and on the PATH system (operated by the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey), a subway linking New York and New Jersey.

Among NYC Transit's capital projects are additional new subway cars and a state-of-the-art "communication-based” signal system to replace the old “block” signal system and electro-mechanical signals.